Today from first to third period, we had a huge assembly in the gym. No, it wasn’t another pep rally. Starting last Monday, my school started one of its’ notorious school-wide read-alouds. This is when the teacher reads a few designated pages of a book to each of their classes, and usually by the end of the week, the whole school has read the entire book. It’s really fun! We have a few every year, like, earlier we read The Strange Case of Origami Yoda by Tom Angleberger and, also, Seedfolks by Paul Fleischman. This time we are reading Nerd Girls by Alan Sitomer. I really like it, but everyone else seems to think that it’s weird.

Anyway getting back to the point, Alan Sitomer came to our school and gave a hilarious motivational speech about staying in school and out of gangs. It was definetly one of the funnest school events I’ve ever gone to. This absolutely made my day and I’m looking forward to reading some more of his books, especially, Homeboyz.

