What I hate about this year’s Dream Flag poems is that my teacher, Mrs. Lee told us that our poems had to be 15 lines long! To me, I think that is very long. But, that might be because I usually just write haikus. You know, they’re only 3 lines long. I did a haiku for last year’s poem in Mrs. Bauer’s class and it got the message across perfectly. Much better than any long, drony, poem that I could have written. I wanted to share my poem for this year with all you people out there, though. Please tell me what you think!

Dreams inspire us

to do things

we never thought we could

A little voice

inside our heads

saying that we should

do

what we’ve always wanted to

be

ourselves, open and free

voice

our opinions loud and strong

get

what we’ve worked for all along

Everything starts with a dream

