After postponing my Science Fair project for about 2 months, I finally started on it! I am so proud of myself! The downside is that I only have 3 weeks left to pull it all together. Thank God, though, that it’s only worth 2 test grades. I remember last year it was worth 5 tests. That was over half of our whole grade for that semester! Also, last year, if you didn’t do it, it meant that you couldn’t pass 6th grade science, which was pretty pathetic if you had my teacher, Mr. Lawson. He had the easiest science class ever!

Anyway, for my project this year I am comparing different methods of rooting orange trees. If you don’t know what rooting is, it’s when you take a clipping from a plant (e.g. a branch) and plant it in the ground or in a pot or something similar to that. Then after a while of taking care of the newly planted clipping, it should make a whole new plant. Or in my case, a whole new orange tree.

For plant one, I’m using the method where all you do is just plant the clipping in a pot, simple as that.

For plant two, my mommy and I went to the store and got this cool plant hormone powder that makes the roots grow better and faster. It’s called TakeRoot and my dad says that it works since he has a background in rooting plants.

My experiment is seeing which one grows better. Or, as my mom calls it, which one dies the fastest. She thinks that there is no way someone could grow a new plant from a tiny branch, and especially not me. My hypothesis is that the one with TakeRoot will grow better, but there’s the possibility that it might not. The powder could just be another $4 scam!

