At around 11:00 a.m., my mom and I went out to start our awesome 3-day Memorial Day weekend, well, 3-day for me because I don’t have school on Monday, but she still has to go to work. Neither of us had had breakfast yet because my mom spent 5 hours gardening (she thinks she’s finally done!), so we made plans to go out and get lunch and hang out at the beach.

For our lunch spot, we traveled to Peg Leg Pete’s. We decided to sit inside for the first time ever, and it was good, but I think that I’m going to want to sit outside next time. Our waiter was an Asian guy named Jimmy and I’m pretty sure he lives in my neighborhood because he kept staring at me like he was trying to recognize me, too. He only gave us, like, 30 seconds to look at our menus. Because of the short time span, I ended up ordering a Cajun Burger with “special Cajun seasoning” even though me and my mom knew that was just the Tony’s Creole Seasoning that we use at home all the time. When I got my food and took a bite of it, there was something weird going on. I looked at it and there were these really odorous green slug-looking things on my burger. I asked my mom what they were, she said pickled green peppers.

I don’t think I’m getting that again.

After that, we headed out to the beach around noon. It was at least 90 degrees outside! As we were walking to the beach this crazy, super weird looking lady came up to us and just started talking to us. My mom and I tried as hard as possible to ignore her and then she just left and started talking to some other people. The first thing we did after we set down our stuff, was jump into the ocean. We stayed in for like, 2 hours. Then we got out and took naps on the beach. When we got up, both of us had the awesomest tans ever!!

That concludes my Saturday of Memorial Day Weekend.

