When I went to the Public Library on Monday, I saw one of my fellow Girl Scouts there, Naomi. I said hi to her and I noticed a bag in her hand. I asked her what it was, she said it was for the Summer Reading Game. I had heard about this, but I didn’t look into it because I thought I was too old to do it, being 13. Usually, my library liked to target their programs towards younger kids like 3 to maybe 10-year-olds, people who need to learn how important reading is. But, since Naomi was my age, I went up to the little counter in the kids section and asked the lady there what was going on about it. She handed me a bag with a bookmark and a pamphlet, and then she showed me a piece of postercard with a map on it that looked like this,

Next she handed me a dice that was bigger than my palm and told me to roll it. I got a five so the lady put a stamp on the square five spaces from the start. It said I had to read a poetry book, so I went and picked out the biggest book I could find since I tend to read poetry extremely fast because I enjoy it so much. The book was Moon, Have You Met My Mother? by Karla Kuskin.

There weren’t really any rules or anything, it was pretty self-explanatory. Whenever I go to the library from now until August 10th, I bring my postercard with me and the lady at the counter lets me roll the dice and she stamps my card, I get a book on the right topic and then I’m off. Me, my mother, and my brother who is also participating, decided to have Library Mondays in order to complete the map. I’m so excited about it that I’m going to try to blog about my progress. So, if you’re a little confused, it will get alot clearer soon.

