Bronx Masquerade by Nikki Grimes

Bronx Masquerade by Nikki Grimes

I loved Bronx Masquerade! It was one of the BEST poetry books EVER!!!Poetry books are always my favorite genre especially when the poems tell a story. Oooh! I just can’t get over how great this novel was. I’m going to reccomend this to a bunch of my other poetry-loving buddies. Also, it won the 2003 Coretta Scott King Award.

Bronx Masquerade is a book with a bunch of little stories inside. It’s about a classroom full of students who start a poetry slam club called Open Mike Fridays. It starts out small but soon grows to a giant crowd of kids eager to share their poems. Each student in the class eventually goes up and tells their story in verse. Their poems tell about their struggles, fears, and other emotions that they feel. By the end of the year, the kids at Open Mike Fridays realize they’ve turned into one giant family.

