Last night, when my brother was at Boy Scouts, me and my dad went fishing off of this pier near our Downtown area. We had two fishing poles and a type of net that you drop off into the ocean and then when you pull it up you have a chance of catching something.

The first time we used the net, it didn’t have any bait on it. While we were waiting to bring up the net, we used our fishing poles and then realized it would be near impossible to catch anything because we were using the wrong kind of bait, (Eels instead of shrimp!). After we put the poles away, we brought up the net for the first time. Nothing.

My dad had brought little pieces of chicken to tie onto the net so we tried that. We lugged up the net and caught a little soft shell crab, which are everywhere in Florida. We picked it up in the net and dropped it back into the water.

We did it one more time to see if we could catch a fish. Instead, we pulled up the biggest crab I’d ever seen! We got it out of the net and let it scurry around the pier for some time, snapping it’s claws at us when we wagged our fingers in its’ face. Finally when we decided to set it free, we tried to get the crab into the net, but it would not get in it! Scared that the crab might get run over by the cars driving down the pier, my dad picked it up in his index and thumb finger. Just as he was walking to the ledge, it bit him! (By “bit” I mean pinched him with its’ claws, we just call it a bite.) This caused my dad to slam the crab on the ground out of reflex. Afterwards, I think the crab was kind of stunned since he was still alive and moving, but he was much more eager to get in the water again. Now, my dad has a huge chunk of his thumb missing,

A Picture of my dad's thumb after a crab bit him.

The picture is kind of grainy, but the bite is really deep into his thumb.

