My shoes, my shoes,

My colorful shoes,

Covered in greens

And reds and blues.

They’re a little big

So I can wiggle my toes,

The stripes match almost

All of my clothes.

I can go biking,

Walking and hiking,

I can play basketball,

Run down the hall,

That’s why I like these shoes

Most of all.

Happy poetry month! This is a poem I wrote for my Language Arts class about shoes. We’ve been writing poems all month and it is just delightful!

We have our annual Dream Flags celebration coming up soon, where the whole school gets together to write and speak aloud poetry. It’s been one of my favorite things to do ever since 6th grade when I first learned about it once I started middle school. Too bad, though, this year neither the chorus or the band is performing in it, as the school has decided to focus entirely on poetry, and I can’t blame them for that. I wonder how it’s all going to play out this year. Also, I’ve heard rumours that if it’s too hot, we’re going to do it inside the gym. But, I don’t really think that’s a good idea, because then we won’t be able to see the poems hanging outside in the breeze, like they’re meant to be.

